A Very Public Privacy

Internet Security News

A Picture Paints 1000 Words, A Video Must Paint Millions.

So there you have it. If you post your pictures on Flickr you may just have people asking you for your autograph in the street. If you ask me, I think she got off pretty lightly. I’d much rather Virgin used my face for an ad campaign than a group of unruley youths beat me up and put the video on Youtube, but maybe thats just me.

I found it interesting how the news anchor mentioned the lack of a gorverning body on the internet. It begs the question, would a governing body even work on the internet or would it be the nail in the coffin for freedom of expression. I personally think the internet is the last chanel that people have where they can express themselves without fear of a nasty backlash and a governing body would change this for certain. I know there are millions of privacy issues that go along with using the internet but when we log on, don’t we make that choice?

Personally, whenever I post on Facebook, I post with the assumption that EVERYONE will read it, that includes my mother, my boss and all of my tutors. I suppose this accounts for my far and few between status updates of facebook and my lack of a twitter account. I do not think that everyone who uses a social networking site thinks fully about the people who could be reading and this leads to hundreds of unhappy people who have been, at the very least, embarrased by their post and in the worst of cases put themselves in danger of being seriously hurt.

Maybe for the sake of the less careful people, a governing body would be a good way of keeping people safe online, but I can’t see that anyone has the resources to monitor the entire internet with the appropriate controls. It’s a pretty big place afterall.

March 11, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. An extremely thought provoking piece of writing. The author managed to be both positive and negative in equal measures, whilst also providing the reader with enough information to decide for themselves. I will certainly be more vigilante and aware when using my home PC.

    Comment by Claire Jacques | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. thanks very much! I’m glad that the message has come across without me seeming like I am condemning anyone.

    Comment by Katie | April 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

